11. Samoa Cookie Pie

It’s Girl Scout Season in Atlanta.  It’s impossible to walk around campus, into a grocery store, or around a corner without being criminalized by small girls bedecked in green sashes and badges because I don’t want to buy their cookies.

I used to be a girl scout.  I wanted to be a boy scout.   They actually went camping and built things.  Now, don’t get me wrong: I think the girl scouts organization does some things very very right.  But with all the restrictions limiting the “not 100% safe” activities our troops could do, it seemed like most of our time was simply spent finding merit badges we could finish as quickly as possible so that our sashes or vests filled up with badges and buttons faster than the other bitchy girls in our troupe.  Thinking about it, that was actually fairly useful preparation for life.

In any case, my least favorite part of being a girl scout was the cookies.  I dreaded selling cookies.  I hated asking people for money. And then, when we finally stopped, I hated that the other girls had sold more than I.

Fundraisers in general horrified me.  Our school would periodically unleash hordes of small innocents to guilt unsuspecting local townspeople into buying overpriced holiday wreaths or candies– and I would intentionally lose the order forms because I knew (1) our family couldn’t/shouldn’t waste money on them… and (2) I thought I’d just be ripping off anyone else who bought them. I realize now that our school needed that money more than any person who was willing to pay $50-75 for a Christmas wreath– and that some people actually enjoy spending money that may go to a good cause. But young me interpreted fundraisers as exploiting child labor and innocence to syphon money away from family and community members: an exploitation achieved by bribing kids with crappy bright blue boom-boxes as prizes for the kid that sold the most.

This is not to say that girl scout cookies are not delicious.  Or that Girl Scouts is not worthy of your $$. This is only a very long, unrelated, and unnecessary introduction to the following samoa cookie inspired pie:

I’m stretching it by calling this a `pie’.  It’s actually a toffee bar base, covered in dark chocolate, then a layer of toasted coconut and caramel, drizzled with more chocolate.  But I made it in a pie dish– hence it counts.

Plus it’s super easy to make, has relatively few ingredients, and satisfies my samoa craving.

TOFFEE SQUARE BASE:

This is my grandmother’s recipe.  Normally I just stop after the chocolate layer and sprinkle on chopped walnuts… and it’s delicious like that.  But I thought it’d make a great base for samoa-like toppings.

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg yolk
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 cup flour

Cream butter.  Beat in sugar until creamy.  Add vanilla, egg yolk, and salt.  Stir in flour slowly.

I did this all in my handy-dandy vibrant green clearance-priced KitchenAid mixer:

Apparently this color of mixer didn't sell as well as hoped. I think it's awesome.

Pat into a greased 10-inch pie pan (any flattish pan will do, but we’re making a `pie’).  Bake at 325F for 15-20 minutes, until golden browned.

The pie-shaped baked toffee square dough.

TOPPING:

  • Chop up ~1/3 cup dark chocolate, or use chocolate chips.

Upon removing the cooked dough from the oven, sprinkle the top with chocolate and let melt.  Spread out the chocolate after it has melted.

Chocolate.

  • 2.5 cups of shaved/flaked coconut

While baking the toffee square dough (about 15min total)  put the coconut on a pan in the oven, removing to toss occasionally before replacing in the oven.

Toasted coconut.

  • One can of  sweet & condensed milk
  • One pinch of salt

Pour milk and salt into a pan over low-medium heat.  Stir fairly constantly for about 10-15min, until a caramel brown, and caramel has reached a state where it holds onto an inverted spoon.

Mix together the caramel and toasted coconut.  Spread over the chocolate layer on the toffee square dough.

Drizzle with melted chocolate.  Enjoy!!!

This `pie’ was quite yummy, easily reproducible, and very simple.  I recommend it for GS cookie off-season.  Or right now.  You know you want it.

I may fiddle with ingredients slightly (mainly the caramel sauce, and possibly baking the toffee longer to make it a bit crisper) to get it to be as authentically samoa-cookie like as possible.  But this is pretty darn tasty as is.

Update: it’s even better the next day.

This entry was posted in Favorites, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 11. Samoa Cookie Pie

  1. Nancy Block says:

    Sounds delicious! I think the bright green mixer is fabulous.

  2. Steve Baker says:

    I just love the way your mind works. I think the introduction is as tasty as the pie.

  3. Pingback: 12. A pack of pies (chocolate cream, berry and cheese, almond+red wine pear, fig+apple rose) | thepielab

  4. Pingback: 31. Caramel Cranberry Pecanipane tart | thepielab

Leave a Reply

