30. Goat Cheese and Kale+ quiche

Happy new year!!! As is evident, I failed at my goal of posting a pie a week in 2012.  I’ll keep posting until I have a at least 52 pies, and possibly longer.  This year, I’m hoping to do more classics with subtle twists mixed in with experiments.

Before we head to magical marvelous pie land, I’d like to pause and brag about my new spice rack, gifted to me by my cousin, purchased from GneissSpice.  They are little hexagonal jars with magnets in the lid.  I recently filled them, and kept rearranging them into shapes on my fridge like a little kid.  So far I’m loving them.  They should be fairly easy to make too.  To be honest, I need a few more: I’ve gone a bit spice-happy at the local farmers market.  My eyes will soon turn a beautiful Fremen blue.

That there’s some Gneiss Spice. You can see the labels I added, and my current organizational system.

My fridge is now both a work of art AND a space saving device.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now… on to the food.

This quiche, like the previous one, is a “what do I have in my fridge” creation.  It has goat cheese, kale, onion, mushroom, and orange pepper.  I worked parmesan cheese into the crust while rolling it out, and then topped it with a drizzle of parmesan-thyme cream sauce.

FILLING INGREDIENTS:

  • 5 eggs
  • 3.5 oz chevre goat cheese
  • 3 Tbsp kefir/yogurt/sour cream
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • Vegetables: 1/4 onion (diced), 3 medium mushrooms (sliced), 4 stalks of kale (torn to small pieces), 1/2 a pepper (chopped) [yes, I used different verbs just because I could.  Make them all into small pieces using whatever method you desire.  I desired to set a group of miniature knights upon them, but could not find one.]
  • Salt, pepper, cayenne, paprika, nutmeg, cinnamon (to taste)

DIRECTIONS:

  • blend together 3.5oz chevre goat cheese and 3 Tbsp kefir cheese (sour cream or plain yogurt would also work)
  • mix in 1/4 cup flour
  • beat in 5 eggs consecutively
  • stir in choice of seasonings/spices: I used paprika, cayenne, salt, nutmeg, cinnamon, and black pepper
  • Melt 2 Tbsp butter in a pan over medium-high heat, and add in choice vegetables.  Cook them while stirring for 5 minutes.

 

IMG_9085

The pie dough was fairly standard, and indeed the same base that I used for the blood orange pie (spoilers!!).

Roll out pie dough: instead of using flour on the pin/surface, I used a 50-50 mixture of grated parmesan and flour.  Place in large pie pan, and sprinkle additional cheese on top.  Cover with parchment paper and pie weights (I use dry beans) to hold crust down. Prebake for ~15 minutes at 350F.

IMG_9098

 

I want to pause to appreciate this crust.  I rolled out the extras (in their parmesan-cheesy goodness) thinly and made some crackers.  You can see some of the fine flaky structure in those crackers:

Thin, flaky layers that melt in your mouth, leaving behind the taste  of butter and parmesan.

Thin, flaky layers that melt in your mouth, leaving behind the taste of butter and parmesan.

Pour into crust and bake at 350 for 30 minutes. IMG_9101

 

Until you achieve something firm, golden brown, and aromatic.  Top it with more cheese if you want (I waited to serve it before adding a drizzle of parmesan cheese sauce), and briefly put it back in the oven/broiler brown if you do.IMG_9114

Overflowing with vegetables: just the way I like it! This photo is pre-drizzle.

 

It was great, as all things with cheese and vegetables usually are.  The crust was quite delicate and cheesy, and I loved it.  Now I just have to remember to save enough of it for brunch tomorrow!!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

