Chipotle Blackberry Pie

IMG_9289

The porch half of my kitchen: note the blackberry pie on the table.

I’ve moved to Seattle.  That description is a bit terse- but despite some appearances, this is a blog about pie.  Well, mostly.

Within the first couple days I’d broken in the new apartment with a blackberry pie.  Blackberries are vicious snarly weeds here.  The plants grow around the neighborhood, looming over fences, climbing up trees, barring sidewalks, defying all attempts to cull them out– the native kudzu of the Northwest.   I love them.

Free, delicious, accessible pie filling??? What’s not to love.

This is not a post about the first blackberry pie– no.  This is a post about the most recent blackberry pie (yes, there have been a few).

Last week, I grabbed mango habanero sorbet with a visiting friend.  I’ve been a fan of spicy fruit combinations in the past.  I’ve even tried my hand at them in pies: after a great green chile/apple pie in San Francisco, I tried my hand at Thai chili/coconut/apple pie.  It didn’t live up to my dreams.

But this one– tart yet robustly sweet blackberry with a warming hint of smoky chipotle, and a touch of ginger– this one was a winner.

I don’t have pictures at the moment.  But I do have a recipe:

2 standard pie crusts.

~4 cups blackberries

1/4 cup sugar

3-4 Tbsp of minute tapioca or other thickening agent (starch)

1/3 of a chipotle pepper, ground/chopped finely

2tsp of finely chopped fresh ginger (can use dried)

1 pat of butter (chopped in pieces)

Prebake one crust in a pie tin for ~15min at 350F until starting to flake (need not be fully cooked).  Mix non-crust ingredients, and place them in this shell.  Cover with the second crust (a lattice-top works well).  Sprinkle top crust with a bit of sugar, and bake at 350F for 30 minutes.  You can optionally brush the top with egg white, or spray with oil to get a nice brown top, bettered by broiling for 1 minute at the end of bake time.

This entry was posted in Favorites, Fruit Pie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

